BMA watermark crest

Yacht Registration


The Bahamas Maritime Authority is a well-respected flag worldwide and continues to be a top performing flag on the whitelists of the Paris MoU (Europe and Canada) and Tokyo MoU (Asia and Australia) and of the USCG Qualship21 program.

The BMA provides a straightforward, cost effective and efficient registration procedure for private and charter yachts of 12 metres in length and above, and for passenger yachts.

The only flag with a dedicated code for small charter yachts, The BMA is a pioneering flag with a Passenger Yachts Code (PYC) to allow yachts to carry more than 12, and up to 36, passengers. Meeting the growing demand from yacht owners to be able to carry more guests on board.

The BMA has developed specific technical and surveys requirements, tailored to small (12 to 24 metres) and large (over 24 metres) yachts in charter (commercial) or private (non-commercial) use and for private yachts in restricted charter use.

Quick Links


Boris system on ipad

BORIS – Online Services


The BMA has developed an industry leading online registration information system (BORIS) for registered owners, ISM managers and authorised manning agents of Bahamas registered vessels.

Read More

Yacht Services Team – Contact us


Receive specialist support from a member of our Yacht Team or contact a member of our Registration Team.

General Yacht Enquiries:
Phone: +44 (0) 20 7562 1300
Email: yachts@bahamasmaritime.com

Technical Services – Point of Contact:
Stephen Keenantech@bahamasmaritime.com

Yacht Registration – Point of Contact:
Stacy Davisreg@bahamasmaritime.com

Yacht STCW – Point of Contact:
Oli Olsenstcw@bahamasmaritime.com

Yacht MLC – Point of Contact:
Oli Olsenmlc@bahamasmaritime.com

Yacht Casualty – Point of Contact:
Tom Jenkinscasualty@bahamasmaritime.com